Guide to New Training Requirements
|There are new and increased training requirements for licensed family child care providers. The basic training requirements are summarized below. For complete details, visit the Office of the Revisor of Statutes website.|
Child Care Aware of Minnesota offers training to meet the new licensing requirements for family child care providers. Low-cost training is available in person through your local Child Care Aware agency and online through Eager-to-Learn. Download our complete Guide to New Training Requirements, which outlines training options for each of the new requirements.
For more information and guidance related to these and other training opportunities, please contact your Professional Development Advisor at your local Child Care Aware agency. Find your local PDA by calling 888.291.9811 or search online.
For licensing requirement information, contact your county licensor or visit the Department of Human services website.
Pre-Service Training Requirements (for new applicants)
Family child care applicants with a license effective date on or after July 1, 2014, must meet these training requirements before a license will be issued:
- Child Growth & Development / Behavior Guidance (4 hours)
- Supervising for Safety (6 hours)
- Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID)
- Abusive Head Trauma (AHT)
- First Aid
- Child Passenger Restraint (if going to transport children)
In-Service Training Requirements (for licensed providers)
Family child care providers that are licensed before July 1, 2014, will begin completing the new training requirements on July 1, 2014. County licensors will begin monitoring for increased training requirements on July 1, 2015. A total of 16 hours of in-service training is required annually.
The following required areas of training count toward the total of 16 required hours:
- Child Growth & Development / Behavior Guidance (required annually)
- Supervising for Safety (2 hours required annually)
- SUID (required annually, with a video/online option allowed in the alternate year)
- AHT (required annually)
- First Aid (required every two years)
- CPR (required every two years)
- Child Passenger Restraint (required every five years for those who transport children)
The State of Minnesota is committed to offering low-cost training to support the professional development of family child care providers. Look for these low-cost trainings offered at $5/hour:
For specific training requirements for your license renewal date, download this PDF from the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS).
- Professionals & Caregivers
- Trainers & RBPD